Book Review: The Mime Order

6:00:00 PM

If you have not read The Bone Season, the first book in this series, go do that now! The Mime Order is only book two out of the seven book series! Based on the first two, I can already tell it is going to be an epic series.

The way I would describe this series is: Divergent meets the Hunger Games, but with clairvoyants. If that doesn't intrigue you, than I don't know what will.

If you haven't read The Bone Season and want to avoid spoilers, please scroll right past the synopsis until you see the "Review" header.

Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal prison camp of Sheol I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the survivors are missing and she is the most wanted person in London . . . 
As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on Paige, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city's gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take center stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community and dark secrets around every corner.
Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided.

I honestly fell in love with the series when I first read The Bone Season. It was an agonizing wait until The Mime Order came out. I have to admit though, that it did take me almost a year to finish The Mime Order. With school, work, and life, it got put on the back burner.

Nonetheless, this book was everything that I had hoped that it would be.

The Mime Order picks up right where The Bone Season left off. It was very easy getting back into the details of the book, but it was also a little slow. Samantha Shannon did a great job at world building compared to her last book. There was a bit of an information dump in the first one, but it did help ease the transition into the new book. I also liked the maps included in the book, if you ever get confused by the classes or locations you can always flip back to them.

Shannon did a great job with the main character, Paige. She is brave and intelligent, but you can also see that she is honest and emotional. She stands up for herself and what she believes in. I really enjoyed seeing how her relationships evolved in this book.

Warden is one of my favorite characters in this series. I didn't like waiting for him to come back into the book, but Shannon knew exactly what she was doing. I would like to see more of him in the next book, but then again I want the next one to be all about Paige and Warden :)

Overall, I am very happy with this series. I love the world that Shannon has built, and each of its characters. November cannot come soon enough!

If you're interested in purchasing this book, you can find it here.

Have you read this book? I'd love to hear your thoughts in the comments! 

* This post contains affiliate links, which means that if you click on one of the product links, I'll receive some type of commission. For more information, you can read our full disclosure here. *

Join the Perfectly Ambitious Newsletter!

Sign up for our latest content, products, and coupon codes!

Powered by ConvertKit

You Might Also Like